Bush Said it All in Three Short Sentences

Bush Said it All in Three Short Sentences

“Argument turns too easily into animosity. Disagreement escalates into dehumanization. Too often, we judge other groups by their worst examples while judging ourselves by our best intentions.”

Former President George W. Bush, at the memorial service for the slain policemen at Dallas, Texas.

Music to read this by (I can’t get it out of my head, and it bears on this column):

“There’s been some hard feelings here                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      About some words that were said                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            Been some hard feelings here and what is more

There’s been a bloody purple nose                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           And some bloody purple clothes                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              That were messing up the lobby floor

It’s just apartment house rules so all you ‘partment house fools                                                                                                                                                                                 Remember one man’s ceiling is another man’s floor                                                                                                                                                                                                 One man’s ceiling is another man’s floor…”

One Man’s Ceiling is Another Man’s Floor, Paul Simon

It’s time to break up the circular firing squad we have going, and discover what unity we can as a nation, and as a world.  I’ve found very few occasions when there’s been anyone in Second Life who didn’t come here to make friends and have fun – without hurting others.

That said, a political argument I had with someone from another country got out of hand last weekend.  Doesn’t really matter over what.  Nothing about this issue would have changed, had one of us been converted to the other’s viewpoint.

As the argument escalated and became more personal, I pleaded for us to stop, just stop conversing at all for a while, and give each other a day to relax and view it all in perspective. That wasn’t happening, so I blocked her for a day.

Suddenly, all the complex science-fiction related role play infrastructure, world creation, everything we’d been developing fell apart. I was kicked out of one RP-related group we’d worked together on.  She left me on another such group, but I was also angry now, and resigned from it.

Months of work on what might have been great Second Life gaming fell apart, just like that.  I can’t control what she did, but I ought to have had better control over what I did.

I ought to have explained why I was blocking her and that it wasn’t hostile; exactly the opposite, I was trying to preserve a friendship and a good working relationship. I suppose just dropping out of world was an option, but that seemed cowardly to me.

So it went.

RL Politics will kill Second Life if we let it. It’s not uncommon, unfortunately, to read comments in Nearby Chat criticizing one of the candidates in this year’s Presidential elections.  I don’t like either of them, to be honest. My decision will turn on who’s the lesser evil.  Who I think that might be is my business, and I don’t go to dances to hear who someone else thinks should be President.  I’m holding out for Elon Musk in 2020.

Anyone reading this, I don’t care what you think on RL political issues. I hope you don’t hate anyone for their religion or their heritage or their politics. If you do, let me know so we can part without rancor, or keep it to yourself and consider working to overcome it.

One thought on “Bush Said it All in Three Short Sentences

  1. Update: sure enough, it happened again. This time, nobody muted anyone, no one’s not talking to anyone, but I had to swallow a little pride to do it. I’m not happy with the result. I asked for a day to think things over, and I still am. So far, my conclusion is that half the United States is giving themselves entirely undeserved credit for being more intelligent than the other half. They want to put the biggest crook since Boss Tweed into the White House on the basis of one party’s narrative of the facts. Ironically, Boss Tweed’s old party has hijacked the political narrative in this country. No Thomas Nast so far has risen up to oppose them. This year, the press is as bought-off as the politicians.

    Update (part 2): Without naming names, I can say that when the subject of this update (not the article itself, and I know, “Damn, Patty, can’t you get along with anyone?”) agreed to be my guest at my home tonight, she did so for the express purpose of being rude to me because I utterly reject the slimy political operator she’d like to help jimmy into the White House. She then defriended me for being blunt about her candidate’s disqualifications for elective office of any sort. Even a small-town dog catcher needs enough empathy and common sense to not get his charges killed unnecessarily. My former friend’s candidate for the Presidency has gotten a depressingly long list of people killed from incompetence and venality.

    Like

Leave a Reply

