“No Marigolds in the Promised Land” – A Poster for Strawberry Singh’s Second Life Movie Poster Challenge!

Die-hard fans of my Flickr feed may remember a series of photos I posted there in February 2014 entitled “No Marigolds in the Promised Land,” an homage to Steely Dan’s post-apocalyptic, after-a-nuclear-war ballad “King of the World,” from their album Countdown to Ecstasy.

Fast-forward to now.  The ever-so-inventive Strawberry Singh has given us a new meme to post about in our Flickr feeds and other social media venues (like this one) – Second Life Movie Poster Challenge 2016! in which readers from Second Life are challenged to concoct their own homages to the art of the Hollywood movie poster (a branch of art with long and deep roots).

Now that the cutting room floor is increasingly being replaced by a high-end enterprise imaging computer (or a high-end Macintosh desktop for those artists who, like the creators of The Blair Witch Project or Shane Carruth, creator of the critically-acclaimed time-travel epic Primermust do their magic on a budget of less than US$10,000), movie posters are increasingly also done away from compositing tables and on desktop computers (albeit expensive ones with expensive Pantone® software packages to get that all-important color registration just right before the posters go to press).

That doesn’t mean we can’t take a hard crack at faking it.  So, herewith, my entry in Berry’s contest:

No Marigolds in the Promised Land poster.png

I didn’t pay homage to an existing film, but decided to play to the intelligent folks who usually see this blog, can recognize a Geiger counter when they see it (in my right hand), and realize I’m doing a movie poster about a “after something dreadfully nuclear happened” movie.

Not that I’m anti-nuclear myself, although I am aware that the nuclear industry’s safety record, like the chemical industry’s record, farming’s record and every other human activity’s safety record, isn’t what it could be.  We’ll still need to either use nuclear more than we do now, keep burning coal, oil and natural gas and live with global warming, or get used to life before Second Life, which basically depends on cheap power to make and operate cheap computers.  Put me down for a nuclear power plant in my back yard, please, if those are my choices (I’m not just blowing smoke, I grew up 14 miles as the crow flies from one).

But Hollywood’s had a seventy-year solid run scaring people with radiation, so I grabbed for that low-hanging fruit.

Only Reasonable Desires, who made the Geiger Counter, part of their “Boiling Point (Sexy Nerdy Scientist Costume, L$99)”,

Valentine Hair Basics, who made the “Hair Blonds Lucy Loose Bun and Side Bang w. Resizer,” L$5 and

REDGRAVE Skins & Fashion, who made the “Kiara pale skin” bundle,L$690 are still selling things I wore for this shoot in Second Life Marketplace.

I had to track one of the retired designers down to negotiate private rights to the outfit which contains part of this ensemble (the camouflage “flak vest”), for which the price was surprisingly affordable.

If she ever goes back into business, I’ll happily promote her work, but I assume she pulled out of MP because she prefers to spend her Second Life doing other things.

Anyway, as always, I treasure your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

